Skip to content

Step 1

January 27, 2011

There’s something nice about stepping away from the computer. Transitioning back to using the pencil rather than a mouse has been difficult, but it feels great to have tactile results right in front of you.

It’s been awhile since I’ve been truly excited about the work I am producing. What’s great about my Relief Printing class is that I’m taking everything I’ve learned about art and design, and marrying that knowledge together. So far I’ve been brainstorming how I plan on translating what I do with this class for my final Thesis solution. It’s not easy, as I am constantly tempted to stray off to my old roots of just creating some really rad looking art for the sake’s of it. This time around, I actually have a message that I am trying to communicate and it’s really pushing myself not just as an artist, but as a designer as well.

For my first print of a series, it focuses on a large part of the tattoo scene: Japanese culture. Being that I’ve never really done woodcuts before, this will be an interesting learning process. Hopefully what I envision will translate well into a print.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

