Skip to content

Academic transition

October 21, 2010

If there is one thing I’ve always dreaded about school, whether it was elementary school or college, it was writing. I’ve never really considered myself a good or even interesting writer. There was always the pressure I put upon myself to write in the most sophisticated  manner possible, but whenever I read the words I put down, I was convinced it just couldn’t be done. I continued to struggle through high school and college, even when I was clearly doing well in my classes. When I would get papers back with an A on it and positive feedback overall, I was shocked. Did the teacher even read this shit paper I turned in? Granted I worked hard and edited as best as I could, but that didn’t mean I was proud of it.

Let’s speed up to present day: Graduate school. I came here to design and to do it well. Communicating visually is the primary aspect of design right? That’s the notion I had in my head. First year, things went well. I’ve designed pieces I can be proud of and communicated the message well. The writing was kept to a minimal. Awesome! Now that I’m in my 2nd and final year, hopefully I could keep up the pace I had the year before. I signed up for Thesis class, a little unsure and intimidated by the word itself. I’m in design school, I don’t actually have to write for my thesis project do I? I can just make pretty things? I couldn’t have been more wrong (and it’s a good thing that I was).

Once I got past the fact that I would indeed be writing yet again, it was a little haunting. Will my design suffer because of a skill I thought to be a weakness of mine? The first half of the semester I struggled, almost trying to avoid the situation overall. But as time is crunching down, it was time to buckle. Through my professor, I’ve learned to embrace writing as a way to not only vent my thoughts but also to collect and inspire ideas. Free writing in my sketchbook and on blogs such as this has allowed me to open up in ways I have never associated with writing. Why should I be so critical of how I write? In reality, I am writing for myself, to express who I am. I than decided that I will carry this over to how I will approach my thesis writing. Initially, I once again attempted to write on a level I thought appropriate of a higher education student. But after reading how designer Hillman Curtis approached his writing and how casual it was, I was re-inspired. I actually became excited to write, to bring my own voice to my own project and ultimately my own design.

And that’s what it’s all about. Being true to oneself, having a voice not only as a designer, but as a unique individual as well.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Markie permalink
    January 13, 2011 7:11 am

    Remember that time you had a final to paper to write that you hadn’t started…and we ended up in DC with Mason looking for dessert?

  2. Lanny permalink*
    January 18, 2011 7:19 pm

    good times!

Leave a Reply

